Social Sciences Idea Panels Committee

Faculty Forums:

The Future of Social Sciences at Cornell University: Investing in Innovation and Collaboration
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 | 2:00-3:30 pm | 184 Myron Taylor Hall
Watch video

Policy, Planning, Translational Research, and Related Themes: Ideas Panel
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 | 8:30 – 10:00 am | 226 Weill Hall
Watch video
Written statements from panelists


The Provost launched a Review of the Social Sciences in 2016. The report by the External Committee for the Review of the Social Sciences is available for viewing at Judy Appleton (vice provost) and Ted O’Donoghue (senior associate dean, A&S) have been charged by Provost Michael Kotlikoff to spearhead the university response to the external report and to identify next steps in strengthening the social sciences at Cornell. As a result, three university committees were created, including the Committee on Idea Panels.

The first task of the Social Sciences Idea Panels Committee was to organize a general faculty forum that provided an opportunity for faculty to engage with the committee, to identify key areas of possible university investment and collaboration, and to alert us to other issues that are critically important to the future of social sciences at Cornell (e.g., hiring, diversity, resources, research initiative, training, etc.). During December 2017, this forum, “The Future of the Social Sciences at Cornell University: Investing in Innovation and Collaboration,” took place. (See video.)

Based on feedback from that forum and other conversations, the committee organized a series of three faculty panels designed to identify areas of strength and potential “radical collaboration” in the social sciences at Cornell. With broad faculty input, we hope to identify promising areas that will, with additional resources and support, significantly enhance the quality, strength and prominence of the social sciences at Cornell University. The three forums include:

Co-Chairs: Daniel Lichter, PAM and ISS; and Valerie Hans, Law

Committee Members:
Ben Cornwell, Sociology
David Easley, Economics
Parfait Eloundou-Enyegue, Development Sociology
Shannon Gleeson, ILR
Lillian Lee, Computer Science
David Pizarro, Psychology
Lucinda Ramberg, Anthropology
Monika Safford, Weil Medical